Microsoft: Update Tool “Breaking Phones”, Has Been Pulled

The ChevronWP7.updater tool that was released recently by Chris Walsh was said, by Microsoft, to possibly disable the phones ability to download and install future Windows Phone updates. The updater was pulled shortly after and since then, we have been waiting on an official word from Microsoft or Walsh and today, Walsh posted to his blog the following:

Do not use my tool to update your phone.

On Monday, I released a homebrew utility that attempted to install unreleased updates to Windows Phone devices. The tool successfully passed my own tests involving multiple update scenarios.

I was later informed by Microsoft that there were several problems with my tool and the manner in which it changes phones.

Despite the fact that all outward signs indicate the phone has been updated to build 7390, Microsoft tells me otherwise. Part of the problem, the company says, is that I incorrectly used an undocumented API to deliver updates.

Most problematic, Microsoft tells me that updating in this manner will place devices in a “non-serviceable state”. In its blog post describing the situation, Microsoft instead says devices updated in this manner “may” no longer receive updates

Because the tool is, in Microsoft”s words, “breaking phones”, I have taken it offline at their request.

While the number of users impacted by this utility is small, I would at least like to communicate that I”m sorry if this tool causes any issues down the road. In a follow-up post, I’ll detail what your next steps should be as official support isn’t an option at this time.

Being one of the users who did use the Chevron updater, I have no harsh words for the homebrew developer because I made the choice to use the tool knowing full well what might happen and also because I now have NoDo which, as far as we know, may have never come if it’s up to At&t to finish up their testing. Had Microsoft and the carriers been a little more forthcoming and quicker regarding the update process, this probably would have never needed to happen.

Source: My Coding Adventures

Leave a Reply

