How To Reset Your Windows Phone to Factory Settings

From time to time users may need to reset their phone back to the factory settings. Whether your having an issue with your devices operation, installing a memory card or selling your phone, you’ll want to completely erase all of the data on the phone and return it to a factory state. The process is easy and only a few simple steps, so I figured I’d share them in a brief post.

(Note: After resetting your phone, all of your personal data, apps and settings will be erased)

To return a Windows Phone to factory settings:

    1. From the Windows Phone home screen, swipe to the left to access the apps menu.
    2. Swipe down until you get to the Settings option.
    3. Once in Settings, tap About.
    4. At the bottom of the screen tap Reset Your Phone.
    5. Tap Yes to confirm and rest the device.

Hopefully this helps. I recently had to reset an HTC Surround Windows Phone in order to change over to a Samsung Focus and then once again on the Focus to install a MicroSD card, so it helps to know how to use this feature in case it is necessary.

Advertisements

2 responses to “How To Reset Your Windows Phone to Factory Settings

  1. If one resets there phone you said that
    all APP’S will be deleted does that mean
    the ones we paid for, or will we be able to
    download again on same phone without
    having to pay…

    Andrew

    • Your Windows Live account remembers your app history, so once you hook your phone back up to wifi or the Zune software, it will redownload all of your apps, even the apps you had paid for, so you will not have to pay for them again. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s